

In 1992, the Federal Bar Association established an award in honor of the late Michael J. Hemovich, to be bestowed upon a lawyer deemed by the FBA board to best meet the four criteria identified as representative of Mike's contribution:

Federal Bar Association THE FEDERALIST

- 1. Depth of compassion toward people;
- 2. Professional excellence;
- 3. Professional zeal tempered by wit, good humor, and colorful personality; and
- 4. Service to the Federal Bar.

The FBA Board is currently accepting nominations for the Hemovich award. No specific form of application is required, but nominations should encompass the criteria listed above. Your submittals must be received by **July 15, 2020**, and should be sent to the Federal Bar Association, Eastern District of Washington, c/o Daniel J. Gibbons, Witherspoon Kelley, 422 W. Riverside Ave., Suite 1100, Spokane, WA 99201 or e-mail to: <u>djg@witherspoonkelley.com</u>.

Past recipients of the Hemovich award include: Bob Whaley (1992), Adam Moore (1993), Mark Vovos (1994), Carroll Gray (1995), Judy Clarke (1996), James Gillespie (1997), James Connelly (1998), James Hovis (1999), Jim Workland (2002), Bob Linnell, Carl Oreskovich (2009) and Bill Symmes (2012).

The Federal Bar Association Annual Conference and CLE will occur on September 18, 2020 at Spokane Convention Center. Final details about the Hemovich award dinner and the bar conference will follow at a later date.